Are your eyes upon God?  Do you trust in yourself and your ability to survive?

When we grieve or are repenting and feel like God is not near how do we respond.  I find that when I’m not in the Word I tend to loathe in self pity.  I sink low within myself.  No one can lift me up where I allow myself to go.  Do you realize where your headed when you allow your feelings to take over?  There are times I dont notice myself dropping until I’m way down in self pity.  Then I give up on myself and allow my feeling to take over and not move.  I know what I need to do, don’t we all.  I know if I pour in the positive thoughts and positive words I can be uplifted.  I wonder why people allow themselves to go there.  I know why, it’s alot of work to keep above the water.  When we sink isnt easier to just give up then press on.  But the Word, tells us to Press on, keep up the fight, we are victorious.

Job today reminds me of how I desire to be.

16:15-21  I have sewed sackcloth over my skin and buried my brow in the dust. My face is red with weeping, deep shadows ring my eyes; yet my hands have been free of violence and my prayer is pure. O earth, do not cover my blood; may my cry never be laid to rest! Even now my witness is in heaven; my advocate is on high. My intercessor is my friend as my eyes pour out tears to God; on behalf of a man he pleads with God as a man pleads for his friend.

I want to be this way.  When I hit bottom, when grief strikes me or sin overwhelms me I want to rise above.  I want to stay pure in my thoughts and prayers. Jesus is our friend, he is interceding for each of us every moment, he is our friend and hurts with us and gets excited with us as well.  We have a friend who is watching over us and pleading our case for us.  Let us remember to turn to him during these times.  Tell him we don’t have the strength.  Don’t stop reading or talking to him during these lows, let him encourage us to sit up, stand tall, he’ll help us, he’ll hold our arms and let us lean on him.  He’ll steady our stand until we can do it, then he’ll take our hand and walk with us.

Don’t let others words condemn you for your actions or thoughts, you are accountable you know what is true and what is not.  If are convicted face the conviction and move forward.

A verse in Job reminded me of a song by Nicole Mullen this morning and my soul sings it with joy, My Redeemer Lives.

19:25-27  I know that my Redeemer lives, and that in the end he will stand upon the earth. And after my skin has been destroyed, I myself will see him with my own eyes-I, and not another. How my heart yearns within me!

I know I’m not perfect, I know my flesh would rather think its missing out on what the world offers from time to time, but keeping in the word close, hearing the word, talking to my Savior, keeps my heart fresh and alive.

Where do you allow your eyes, your ears, and your heart to go without your Savior nearby?

