Todays message at church was great. Practical Athesist you can check it our for yourself Tuesday live on the internet.  icblog.lifechurch.tv

The message to me made me think of the way I spend my time.  To most Time is Money.  I thought I am going to see how many shows I have recording on my dvr and read that much more.  Let’s say I have 5 shows recording, which is equal to 5 hours, than I will read for 6 hours. By reading I don’t mean junk fictional stuff I mean my bible and a book that can inspire and motivate me to become more of who God has called me to be.  I have several books in mind… Wide Awake, Soul Craving, IT, John’s Story, and In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day.

The next item on my list of changes from this weeks message is how we do Christmas.  We already do it differently than most.  We celebrate Christmas by celebrating the birth of Christ with a birthday party.  We have cake, ice cream, and for gifts we write down three things we want to give to Christ the following year.  We take turns reading the Christmas story as well.  We have a nice homemade dinner and then enjoy each other’s company for the remaining of the day.  We don’t put up a Christmas tree, I love lights though. We use a homemade manager with hay in it and I hang up the star of Bethlehem in the corner.  The kids each get 3 gifts a piece, a stocking, and the kids don’t open these items until New Years Eve.  This year though I believe we are going to do it differently.  We will discuss our ideas with the kids and finalize it together as a family.  I am thinking one gift for each of them, serve at a local mission on Christmas, and an option to go on a missions trip during the following year or adopt a child from another country to provide for through a mission. I’ll keep ya posted on how we decide to move forward.  Truly do we need anything.
How do you celebrate Christmas or Birthdays? I’d love to hear your traditions or changes your making this year…..

